Folders along with content and multiple files which have been deleted can be kept within a special location in the application called Recycle Bin. The Recycle Bin acts as a repository for deleted folders and files. The deleted folders and files in the Recycle Bin are kept for a certain period of time (time can be custom set) and then purged from the application. Also, users can restore any folder or file to its original location from the Recycle Bin.
The folders and files are either deleted directly from the application or moved to Recycle Bin after deletion depending on the Account Settings. Refer to Accessing & Understanding Account Setting Screen help file for more details on the same.
Taking into account that it has been set from the Account Settings screen that folders and files after deletion will be moved to Recycle Bin the following sequence of workflow is provided to explain the functionality of Recycle Bin:
Below is the screenshot, where a specific file has been selected and then deleted by clicking the Delete menu button under the [More] menu.
The deleted file will be moved to Recycle Bin.
Follow the given procedure to access the Recycle Bin screen:
1. Open the My Profile menu
2. From My Profile menu, click Recycle bin option to navigate to the Recycle bin screen.
The Manage Recycle Bin screen is displayed below with the deleted file,
Following information related to each item (folder/file) in the recycle bin is displayed in the grid view section:
- Select a campus from the Select Campus drop-down list . The deleted folders and files under the selected Campus will be displayed in the list view on the screen.
Also, there is option to search for any folders & files by entering the file or folder name.
Click on the button to define or modify Recycle Bin Settings, although the same operation can be performed from the Account Settings screen.
You can select either of the radio buttons Delete permanently or Move to recycle bin on deletion. If you select Delete Permanently radio button then any folders/files once deleted from their original location will be removed permanently from the application and will not appear under the Recycle Bin. On the other hand, if you select Move to recycle bin on deletion radio button then any folders/files once deleted will be moved to the Recycle Bin folder. Also, you can enter the number of days or months (from the Automatically clean up recycle bin section) after which the folders/files present in the recycle bin will be permanently purged from the application.
On the Recycle bin screen,
Click on the [Restore] link on any row of file/folder to revert the deleted file/folder to its original location.
Click on the [Delete] link on any row of file/folder to permanently purge the file/folder from the application.
Tick the checkbox beside multiple files/folders to select these files/folders and then click on the button to permanently delete the selected files/folders from the application.